Adventure #4: skiing and chocolate milkshakes.

26 03 2011

It takes no Sherlock Holmes to work out that if I’m blogging, I must have survived skiing!! Go me! Mum, Dad, boyfriend and I, all came back somewhat aged and achey, but we all made it through the week without serious injury. Well, physically… maybe not mentally!

Skiing lived up to everything I thought it would be: terrifying, exhausting, really hard, painful and the most amazing fun. I think I experienced a spectrum of all human emotions at some point during the week, everything from fear to elation. There were hundreds of hilarious moments but I’ve cherry picked a few key ones for your pleasure.

For those of you that don’t know my Dad, he’s hilarious. He’s also the clumsiest person I know, so basically it was like teaching an older 6ft 2 orangutang to ski (love you Dad). Our skiing instructor Franck, was possibly the most patient person I’ve ever met, and the craziest, but somehow he did it, and he managed to teach us all to ski. My Dad’s best moment was on the second day coming down the nursery slopes. Dad’s body seemed to freeze when faced with accumulating speed, so rather than attempting to stop or fall over, he just got faster and faster until he crashed into something or someone. So my favourite moment by far was when my Mum and I got to the top of the button lift and came off, and were prepring to pootle down the slope, when I looked round and said “Mum, isn’t that Dad over there?” and all we could see was Dad, hurtling at break neck speed across the slope, heading right for the button lifts… the best part of this was that he was going backwards. Right behind Dad trying to catch him up was Super Franck shouting “weight on the left, WEIGHT ON THE LEFT!” but I’m not sure that really made a difference when you’re skiing backwards… So moments later, Dad ploughs into the button lifts, taking out maybe 4 or 5 children and a few beginner adults, who will probably be too terrified to ever ski again.

Poor Dad, although, we all had our fair share of falls. I had a corker on the 3rd day which was a prequel to my mental and physical mid week breakdown, where I cried a lot and wanted to go home more than anything in the whole wide world. I fell most of the way down the last very steep part of a run, and clattered into a French family who were just chatting at the bottom of the hill. They weren’t very concerned I’d just slid on my arse the whole way down the run, they just proceeded to shout at me in French till I cried, but luckily it looked like I had my game face on as you can’t see tears behind my Ray-Bans (thank god!).

That night was a bad one. I’d had enough, I couldn’t ski as well as my bf, who was bloody brilliant (which really pissed me off), everything hurt, absolutely EVERYTHING (even smiling hurt), I was exhausted, and terrified of hurting myself. That evening I pretty much behaved like a tired and emotional toddler at a birthday party after no afternoon nap and too much cake. However, the next day I picked myself up, got my thermal underwear on, and all of a sudden I could SKI!!! It was a tremendous feeling to actually enjoy myself and relax into it a bit. Don’t get me wrong I was still petrified, but now it was fun!

Amongst my bf being ‘so good that he kept falling over when we were standing still’ because ‘it was just too slow for him’, my Mum getting altitude sickness and falling in love with Franck, and continuously taking me out by skiing into me 10 times a day, we had a lot of laughs and that was the most important thing. The funniest bit being when my bf and I ordered 2 chocolate milkshakes and the bill was 16 Euros!!!

Because he was by far the best skier I’m allowed to do this (he’ll probably kill me though) here is a little video for you of one my bf’s falls…

Did I enjoy the holiday? Well, I’m not sure I’d call it a holiday, more of an experience, and enjoy might not be quite the right word. BUT, I can’t wait to save up all my money and go again next year!!!

News on the hamster: hasn’t arrived yet, BUT I’ve found an awesome cage for it called ‘hamster heaven’ and I’m bidding for it on eBay – 1 day left and I’m winning! Now just got to get little hammy to go in it. Yippee!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

